Skip to content

County 76, events and drive to Sharp County

April 7, 2017
by

Yesterday was a full day. We spent the bulk of the day with our County 76 board planning upcoming events.  This is one of the hardest working and most dedicated boards around.  You leave these meetings with such excitement about the programs to come.

I did have the rest of the afternoon to try to check things off my list and I got 90% done, with all columns written through next week,  Italy trip details finalized, Mississippi trip details trying to finalize, and some other loose ends. Julie and I went after work to an office get-together, but I didn’t get the picture sent to me to share.  We left there and went to the open house at Plantopia. The place was hopping with people, plants and events.   Since I am leaving town on Sunday I decided I had enough plants that aren’t planted and probably won’t be until I get back, so I bought a pot instead.  I did get to visit with a lot of Master Gardeners and Chris’ mom and dad Ralph was in our second year of MG training and is a great gardener–I am sure that is where Chris got his gardening genes.

By the time I got home and watered and saw what work had been done on the house, I was too tired to blog.

This morning I did water plants before I loaded up and headed north to Sharp county. Along the way I was scouting opportunities for tours for the 2018 National Azalea Society meeting.  I stopped in at Ann Wood’s house and her garden is amazing.  The peonies are absolutely stunning  and I can tell she had a great display on her tree peonies which I missed. She has such a diverse collection of plants. The deutzia and leucothoe were beautiful.

She also has a great collection of Japanese maples in addition to many deciduous azaleas that were just beginning to bloom along with a few other evergreen ones.  Ann not only has beautiful shade gardens but an outstanding rose garden, vegetable garden and a diverse mix of trees.  It was hard to leave such an oasis and on such a gorgeous day, but I had to move on. We stopped in at the Earth Station nursery in Batesville and they always have unusual plants.

It was back on the road to Hardy where I checked in to the motel with time to spare before meeting the Master Gardeners for dinner tonight. We were surrounded by prom goers, so it was fun to watch. A great visit with these dedicated Sharp county volunteers. Tomorrow morning is their annual seminar beginning at 9 a.m.  Come join us in Cherokee Village.  It is free.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

