Skip to content

NC, home, kitchen, work and Diamond Chef

April 13, 2017
by

Yesterday was a great wrap-up for me for the national volunteer conference. I had someone ask that after as many years as I had worked, was there anything new, and surprisingly there was, and more than I expected.  Our keynote speaker yesterday was phenomenal–Jones Loflin.  Jones is President of Helping Others Prepare for Excellence, a business centered in NC.  He is a horticulturist in his past life and he shared his leadership talk with an analogy to gardening–right up my alley.  I will be copying some of his work for our leadership training. We all got a copy of his book so that will make it even easier. (I read over half of it on the ride home).

I did have time for two concurrent sessions before heading to the airport. I did leave a bit early. There were more sessions late yesterday and this morning, but I needed to get back.  I had easy flights that were all on time, and I lucked out with an empty seat next to me on both legs of the flight.  I was home by midnight.

I did get to see the kitchen remodel and found out we needed to empty the hallway, so Clay and I did that at midnight! I made it to bed slightly after 1 a.m. and was up early with workers and dogs claiming an early rise.  They stripped wallpaper and flushed out the walls and put on a primer coat today. 

I helped a few friends dig plants this morning for a plant sale, and there are more to be taken! I also did have some chores for the kitchen to be completed. The doors to the cabinets should arrive I think tomorrow, and today they measured for countertops, and I purchased the backsplash tile.   I also picked out paint colors.   My poor cleaning ladies did the best they could do amongst the chaos that is my house.

I did spend some time at the office going over upcoming events, creating powerpoints and making lists of what needs to be accomplished.

Then tonight I went with friends to the Diamond Chef event at Pulaski Tech. It was great fun, seeing folks we knew, visiting with friends and eating great food prepared by students and staff.   We also got to watch the competition of the chefs as well as young chefs competing on cupcake wars.   There were multiple food stations serving French, Southern American and Eastern European foods.  They were all tasty.  The Arkansas Soybean Federation was well represented with an edamame curry which was quite good. 

It was a great, packed day.  It did warm up and I am running my AC to get the heat out of the house tonight.

Don’t forget–tomorrow and Saturday are Jim Collins last plant sale at Arkansas Tech University in Russellville. He retires in May.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Sherman permalink
    April 14, 2017 11:12 am

    Your kitchen looks amazing. I know you must be getting excited seeing all the cabinetry in place!

    • uamg permalink
      April 14, 2017 1:34 pm

      Can’t wait to see it finished and everything put back so life can return to normal.

Leave a Reply

