Skip to content

Zoom, Planning, PP and dinner

April 24, 2017
by

We continue to utilize zoom as a tool to meet. Today we had a great meeting with our director Rick while he was in Louisiana and the rest of our horticulture staff was in LR.  It was a very productive meeting.  Julie and I then tried to finish up all the necessary things for tomorrows 2nd quarterly County 76 meeting. We have most of the stuff we need already downstairs which should make for an easier start tomorrow. It is always somewhat frenzied if we can’t pre-set up.

In the midst of all this activity, my cell phone crashed and did not reboot.  I had no cell phone for hours! I was in withdrawal.  Our fabulous IT guru Buff, pulled out the sim card and put it back in and it came back to life. Perhaps too many apps were open (who knew you had to close them!). I have been ready for an upgrade for over 2 years but I am in the minority and like to stick with the smaller phone I know–(or thought I knew). I now know how to close apps!    How many of you knew this?  Maybe I am in the minority here.

I created two new power points this weekend which I have had a great time creating and I tweaked a bit more today. One was on the Vietnam/Cambodia trip which I am presenting tomorrow and the other is Garden Inspirations from Travel for the Texas MG cruise this week. I have had a great time revisiting all the amazing trips we have taken with Master Gardeners. The hardest part has been in trying to limit what pictures to add.  I can’t wait to present it.  If you have not taken a MG trip in Arkansas, there is still time to sign up for the Rhine River Cruise.  We have about half the boat sold but we can take 150 people.  Here is the link: http://www.learncationtravel.com/rhine-river-cruise-august-2018/

We have seen so much, from thousands of new plants, garden design, meeting with head gardeners in so many gardens, new cultures, garden history, new food and how it is grown, and just learning about each other. It is amazing how well you get to know each other when you travel together for a week or two.

We left the office a bit late and I got home to check on kitchen progress before heading to dinner with good friends.  We had an excellent meal al fresco at Capers.

We chose this restaurant since Mary Beth Ringgold was the Diamond Chef winner this year and it is one of three of her restaurants and my personal favorite.  She was sitting at a table next to us. Martha Ray had to go talk to her.   I made it home in time for the spraying of the kitchen cabinet stain to begin.    They worked late tonight since they want to get the stain done, the finish on and the painting done by Wednesday when the countertops come.  The dogs were thrilled I was home so they could come in to our part of the house.  They waited patiently for me while I was taking pictures. 

The house is still a tad fragrant!  Tomorrow we have almost 70 coming from across the state for our County 76 meeting.  Can’t wait!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hilde Simmons permalink
    April 24, 2017 11:12 pm

    What do you mean, close apps. That should be our learning session tomorrow

    • uamg permalink
      April 25, 2017 6:44 am

      Thank you Hilde, I am glad I was not the only one!

Leave a Reply

