Skip to content

Planning, planning, and celebrating!

May 5, 2017
by

We are all in conference mode at the office. This is the countdown to the 2017 State MG conference and we are almost consumed by it.  This is the time when invoices are coming in, meal counts need to be sent in, signs are made, programs printed and all our i’s are dotted and the t’s are crossed.  I walked in and walked out without hardly looking up.  Not quite true, since we did find time to take Holly to lunch to celebrate Administrative assistants day.  Although it was last week, we celebrated this week, since I was out-of-town.  (It is an old picture since I forgot to take one today!)  It is important to celebrate the folks who work so hard for us day in and day out.  I don’t know what we would do without Holly or Julie!  I also had time to write a column since I will be out most of Monday.

This afternoon I met with my chairs for the 2017 conference to go over as many last-minute details as we can since we do the walk-through on Monday with 150 volunteers.  We are ready!  It is going to be a fantastic conference and we want our volunteers to be aware of all the locations of events and what their roles are.  The Pulaski County Master Gardeners have worked so hard to ensure a top-notch event and the two top chairs Joellen and Valerie have worked countless hours.  I am so blessed to have such dedicated volunteers.

I did receive a box of plants to trial this afternoon. As a garden writer I am often sent plants to trial in hopes that I will like them and write about them. I also use the information to share with the Master Gardeners and agents about what works and what doesn’t.  So far this year two boxes have arrived the day before I was leaving town, but this one was good timing. I have the entire weekend off and I plan to spend some time in the garden.  Proven Winners does a fantastic job of shipping plants so they arrive in perfect condition.  I will keep you posted on how they grow.

I also had an event to go to this evening.  A friend was hosting  a fund-raising event for a great cause–Warm Heads is a non-profit whose goal is to raise funds to buy yarn for knitting or receive knitted hats to give to children in need.   It was hosted by my good friends the Feild’s at the Yarn Mart.  You could make a donation or knit a hat. Since I don’t knit, I made a donation, but also bought some yarn so Chris could knit some hats.  It was a very nice event and a very good cause.

Afterwards I came home to assess my new kitchen. I have a sink that has running water and a disposal, an operating new dishwasher and a stove top.  Some walls are painted and I have new trim throughout a good portion of the house which has been painted.  They are working on the dining room walls next.  Progress is being made in some rooms but more clutter in others! 

It is going to be fabulous when it is done!

Luckily for me, my daughter cooked us a Mexican feast to celebrate Cinco de Mayo!  Enjoy this fabulous weather and garden this weekend!!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hilde Simmons permalink
    May 6, 2017 8:33 am

    Janet, it would be great if you could send a link to the hat knitting information. I work with our prayer shawl ministry at my church, we always look for new patterns and projects.

Leave a Reply

