Skip to content

A glorious weekend in the garden!

May 7, 2017
by

The weather could not have been more perfect for gardening than it was this weekend. It was clear and cool in the mornings and warmed up nicely in the afternoon, but not too much.  I was out by 8 a.m. both mornings and done by 2:30- 3 in the afternoon.  I feel sore all over now, but I did get a lot accomplished.  I pruned, pruned and pruned. I used my loppers yesterday and my handy electric rechargeable pole chainsaw today (quite fun). The pile of branches is quite impressive.  I removed about 1/3 of the loropetalum, but it is still huge.   I was fortunate to have Katie and Ben to haul away branches both days.   They also moved my 12 bags of mulch for me. If I could do 12 bags a week I might finish by October!  I did try putting down landscape fabric next to the street.  I used cardboard everywhere else under the mulch but I got all 12 bags spread.

I harvested broccoli, kale, lettuce,  spinach, peas and a few small potatoes from the plants that got too much water and were dying back.   As I was cleaning the kale I did find some cabbage worms were getting started, but luckily I caught them pretty early. 

I got all the vegetables cleaned and in the refrigerator and made a nice salad.

I fertilized, deadheaded, and weeded.  I edged all the beds and tackled the backyard and the overgrown vinca that keeps coming in.  I also cleared out all the brush between my house and my neighbors. The neighbors yard sort of looks like a jungle and it is encroaching. 

I also got 80% of the plants I have received or purchased planted in the ground. I received my first compost from the Urban Food Loop and it is great stuff.  I haven’t used it all since I am waiting to add some to the vegetable beds when I harvest all the cool season stuff.  Can’t wait to see the results.  I give him my food waste every week and he brings me a clean empty bucket each week. Then once or twice a year I can get great compost for my garden.  A sweet deal!

My blueberries, blackberries and raspberries are coming on strong with 2 raspberries about to be ripe.   I am getting a ton of blooms on the pomegranate but most are falling off and I have loads of flowers on the pineapple guava.  I think the blooms are stunning.

My variegated alstroemeria is blooming and it is almost gaudy.  It has loads of buds too.

Yesterday the gardenia was in bud stage, and today I have 5 open blooms.  In addition my hydrangea are beginning to bloom and the summer spirea is in full bloom all over the yard.

The nasturtiums I started from seed are also glorious in deep shades of red or orange with a variegated leaf.   I ended the day with fertilizing and watering and a shower for me!  Rest and a couple of advil are in order!

One Comment leave one →
  1. mary smith permalink
    May 8, 2017 7:16 am

    I just love that you vegetable garden. I do but not a lot of us do so it is nice to see how your garden is doing and that you actually eat out of it. Thanks so much for sharing
    Mary….River Valley

Leave a Reply

