Skip to content

A full day at the office

May 9, 2017
by

It doesn’t happen all too often, but as we get into the countdown for the state conference, we try to block time to spend at the office. There are so many last-minute details to think of and things to do.  But my job doesn’t begin and end with the MG program, I still have columns to write, emails, letters and phone calls to handle, so it was good to have a full day at the office. I did do a lot of things for the conference today, but I also wrote 2  1/2 columns and hopefully will finish the other 1  and 1/2 tomorrow.  I did a Powerpoint for Saturday and answered phone calls and emails.  When you are busy the day flies by.  It gives you a sense of accomplishment to wrap up so many loose ends.

It did not get quite as hot today as it was yesterday, and in spite of the torrents of rain last week, I did water for a few minutes tonight before I left for an event.  I focused mainly on newly planted annuals, perennials and vegetables and containers. My lime trees are coming along nicely and I hope to have some limes some day. 

My water lilies are blooming and the lotus is beginning to put on more foliage.   I also have blooms on the aucuba–they are small but they are flowers!   The naked lady lycoris have already gone dormant, so they should be back up and blooming in about 6 weeks.   The gardens really look good right now.  All of our rain and early growing season have us off to a great start. Let’s hope the trend continues!

 

The kitchen is coming along nicely and we get floors tomorrow in three rooms.  I did help move a few things out, but Clay did the bulk of it.  It won’t be long now before it is done!  Then it will take time to move everything back in. The painting for the most part is done and after the floors, we have back splash, a little trim, cabinet doors, knobs and pulls and final lights over the island.     Can you tell I like color?

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

