Skip to content

A long, full day

May 12, 2017
by

It was a gloomy, rainy day.  I started off with our annual termite inspection and then I worked on state conference, had several meetings, with the last one ending at 4.

I did have time to make a stop at Merilyn’s garden. It is one of the homes on our tour and we had some committee stuff to discuss so I got a bonus early garden tour.  Her  garden is amazing!     She has so many unique trees and shrubs, along with perennials. I am coveting this variegated pomegranate.

I made it home with time to freshen up before heading out to the old St. Joseph orphanage for their annual fund-raiser event. I was there with the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette doing a book signing and we saw so many old friends and made some new.  The event was slated to be outside, but because of the weather, they redirected and moved everything indoors.    They opened their farm stall tonight and had plenty of produce.  They had a silent auction and live music along with food and drink. I think everyone had a good time, but I didn’t get to walk the gardens. By the time we got everything unloaded it was dark, and I made it home by 9:30 p.m.

Tomorrow is the Faulkner and Van Buren County plant sales.  No wonder it rained today! LOL!

I did get to cook a meal in my almost finished kitchen last night. Nothing fancy, but one of my favorites–a potato, corn, and egg saute over fresh greens from the garden. Not only was it tasty, but it felt good to be able to cook in my own kitchen. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

