Skip to content

Happy Mother’s Day!

May 14, 2017
by

It has been a spectacular and relaxing day. The day started off with my son coming by to cook me my favorite breakfast before he had to go to work. Katie helped out in the kitchen and we had a glorious outside breakfast.     It was a bit of a comedy show trying to find all the things needed to cook and running back and forth from the back bedroom where everything is stored, but it happened. The kitchen is a working kitchen, just not a completed kitchen!

Afterwards I worked a bit on the computer, went shopping for household things and then visited with a friend.  I did a little yard work and I actually sat outside and read a book! What a treat!

My plants are coming along fine, with beautiful fuchsia  and petunias  on the deck. I am harvesting a handful of blueberries and raspberries daily along with lettuce and spinach by the truck full! 

It was a stunning day weather-wise!  To round out the day we ate dinner outside, cooked by my husband and daughter with help from her fiance.  

Our mother robin is now on her second set of children. The three babies just left the nest about 2 weeks ago and she is already sitting on more eggs.  She is a hard-working mama, and I hope her children appreciate her!

I hope you all read the High Profile section of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette today.  Our own Joellen Beard was featured in the volunteer section at the bottom of the front page.    It is an excellent article about an outstanding volunteer, and great PR for our Master Gardener program.

I hope you all had a wonderful Mother’s Day.  I am so proud to be the mother of my two and hope I am following in the footsteps of the great mother I had.

Here are the before and afters:

  Kyle~    Katie!  My but time flies and what a great journey it has been so far.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

