Skip to content

Hydrangeas and loose ends

May 16, 2017
by

For those of us in the middle and southern parts of the state, our bigleaf hydrangeas (Hydrangea macrophylla) made it through the winter unscathed and are blooming now.  So far, all the plants I have seen, from my yard, our state office, and other gardens around central Arkansas, have blooms that are smaller than normal.  I see loads of flowers, but none of the really large, showy mopheads that the plants are famous for.     Have any of you seen large blooms on your plants or others?  Small blooms can occur if the plants are old and woody and very overgrown, but that is not the case on most of what I have seen.  As with most concerns with hydrangeas, we can always blame it on the weather.   I had a lot of blooms that lasted late in the season last year, but I did not prune and I don’t think the ones at the office were pruned either.

In spite of all our recent rain, my vegetable gardens were a bit dry today so I watered this evening when I got home. I have seen the forecast and it appears more rain is coming. I hope it comes and goes quickly so we don’t have a wet state MG conference.  All of the folks whose gardens  are on tour are frantically deadheading, weeding and making them look even more spectacular. I have been reading their Facebook posts and they are working hard to make them the best they can be for our tour participants.  I am so thankful to have such great and giving gardeners who are eager to share their gardens with us.

Here is one clever method one of our gardeners uses to prevent too much rain from drowning her succulents: The things we do to get the most from our plants!

I did spend a big portion of the day finishing up last-minute things for the conference.  It won’t stop until the conference is over.  I am in close contact with many committee chairs and our host hotel.  I also am trying to work ahead to get columns done until after the conference, and I completed that today as well.

I did take time to drive to Pine Bluff and pick up my pendant lights for my kitchen.  I have quite a bit of James Hayes art glass and I am a huge fan.  I contacted them about my pendant lights for over my new kitchen island and they blew two for me to match my color pattern.    Are they stunning or what?!  I can’t wait for them to be installed and shining bright.  I had never been to the studio and it is quite unassuming from the outside but a treasure trove inside.  It was a good thing my house is still in turmoil and I have enough stuff to deal with or I might have shopped more!  I also got to watch the glass blower at work.  

Pretty neat stuff, but a hot job to be sure.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Donna Tolewitzke permalink
    May 17, 2017 5:32 am

    Your pendent lights are gorgeous. I love blown glass and James Hayes’ work is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

