Skip to content

Kitchen restocking and gardening

May 27, 2017
by

The bulk of today was spent moving dishes and glasses and kitchen stuff back into the kitchen. I would say at the end of the day I am about 1/3-1/2 done. I have some big cabinets that haven’t been completed like the lazy susan in the corner, and the pot rack isn’t hung yet so those things have to wait.  My contractor was also trying to finish the back splash so I wanted to give him room. It lacks a few finishing pieces and the grout, and then that is one more thing completed. It looks like a kitchen and I am absolutely thrilled with the outcome. 

I also got the china cabinet restocked and am gradually moving pieces out of the living room. It is beginning to look like home again, instead of chaos. Clay bought all the things to hand art, and we have a lot of that to do, but there is no rush.

I finally took a break this afternoon when it was the hottest and most humid to go work in the garden. I spread 6 bags of mulch, pulled the peas and spinach and half the lettuce and dug potatoes to make room to plant eggplants, tomatoes and peppers. I also planted zucchini and okra seeds.  Then I fertilized, mulched with rice hulls and watered, since no rain has yet fallen and things were dry.

  Petals was my helper staying by my side the entire time I was outside. She loves to be with me in the garden, and so far, has not run off.    Tomorrow is her first birthday, so I have to get to the store to get her some treats.  In the midst of everything my son stopped by with his big dog to give him a bath in our outside dog tub.  Tripps got into something and really smelled bad, so we bathed him and he did well with our other three dogs.  After dinner (which we chef shuttled) I did some more work in the kitchen, cleaned the lettuce and potatoes and put them up.   and now I am officially pooped, and going to read for a bit.

Tomorrow is another day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jccarrie permalink
    May 28, 2017 5:17 pm

    Janet, I noticed you munched the vegetables with rice hulls.  Where do you get them?  Great kitchen–love the blue.

    Sent via the Samsung Galaxy S® 6, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

    • uamg permalink
      May 28, 2017 9:50 pm

      I actually recycled what came with the caladium bulbs that we gave out at the state MG conference, but I have bought it at the farmer’s coop in the past. Farmers Association in LR.

Leave a Reply

