Skip to content

Chores and fruit

June 4, 2017
by

Another full weekend at home flew by in the blink of an eye. I have decided it is much easier taking things out of a kitchen than getting them all put back in.  I am 85% of the way done but I finally had to call it quits. I have cooked the past two nights and it is so much fun!  I also went out and bought a ton of things to organize drawers and try to keep us organized.  Let’s see how long that lasts!  I found these cool things that are actually hooks to hang jackets and such, but look like art (until they are covered up with coats!)     We are gradually hanging art back up too, but want to wait until all the other rooms are painted and then I can determine what goes where.  Clay and I worked both days until we are both pooped.  Kroger was having withdrawals not seeing me much the past two months, so I made up for that today and stocked the kitchen back up.

I did spend a bit of time in the garden, planting a few things I had purchased this week, fertilizing and harvesting before the rains yesterday hit.  My broccoli is putting on its second set of broccoli heads, smaller than the first, but still tasty.  I also am getting a cup or so of blueberries, blackberries and raspberries daily. I tend to graze as I am walking the garden.  The bird netting saved the day and now I am the one picking the fruit instead of the birds and squirrels.     I use the black netting, but a friend uses this sturdier stuff.  I did harvest my first fig this weekend and more are ripening, but the birds are getting to them too.  Once the berries are done I will move the bird netting or I may need to buy more.    MG Pat Freeman posted this one on Facebook   I have never seen a fig that large. I need to find out what variety that is!

We did get more rain yesterday and a bit this morning. It seems to come in a downpour then stop.  The humidity is pretty high too, but our gardens seem to be thriving.  The okra I planted on Monday is already up and growing.

This promises to be a busy week with a bit more traveling.  I speak at the state EHC meeting in Hot Springs on Wednesday and then we have the all day pollinator class on Thursday at Garvan Gardens.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

