Skip to content

Happy 4th of July

July 4, 2017
by

It was an extremely muggy and warm day early on the 4th, and we had three periods of downpours at my house, but they were not long-lived. We got slightly less than 1 inch of rain and by the late afternoon, the temps were cooler and less humid in time for the holiday festivities tonight.  While I love to watch fireworks and don’t remember ever being afraid, when my son was little he hated the loud noises and we have had several dogs over the years who hated them, and one of our dogs now is petrified. Scooter has been pacing and panting since late afternoon and tonight he is a basket case. Even though fireworks are not legal in the city, even the ones from a distance a dog can hear, and there are a few going off in our neighborhood.      I wonder why some dogs are more frightened than others?  Scooter is scared and Petals is not quite certain what is going on but not too concerned.

There have been festivities going on all over our state. The Van Buren Co. MG’s beat the rain and had a great float in their Fairfield Bay parade.   Not only was it a great float, but the walkers passed out seed packets and iris rhizomes.  Great promotion for our program!

It has been a low-key day for me at home getting packed and prepared to be gone for over a week to Portland for the IMGC.  I am crossing off one of 4 states I have not visited once this trip is complete. (The Dakota’s and Maine are all that will be left).  I think we have about 30 MG’s from Arkansas going out for the conference. I am going a few days early with a MG friend to explore Oregon and see as much as we can before the conference starts on Monday.   I hope the frequent rains occur once I leave so the family I am leaving behind will not have to water too much!  I did get to spend time with my husband and son, plus the dogs, so it was a good day.

Happy 4th of July! 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2017 9:30 pm

    What gorgeous fireworks photos!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • uamg permalink
      July 4, 2017 9:35 pm

      Thanks, but not mine-borrowed from the internet–I stayed home!

  2. DONNA HANSON permalink
    July 5, 2017 11:53 am

    Looking forward to seeing you in Portland. Karen Sunderland and I will be staying at the Marriott Residence, arriving Friday night. We will have two weekends to explore the area, leaving 7/17..
    Donna Hanson, Florida Keys (Vietnam/Cambodia trip)

Leave a Reply

